One of my favorite quotes

“Never regret anything that once made you smile.”

I don’t know where I saw it first or even who wrote/said it. I truly have believed what it said until recently. For almost 7 years now I have been doing a job that I absolutely enjoy. A job that not only myself but my family has had to make concessions for. It was a job that I thought I’d be doing until the boys were grown and living on their own.

However, recently I have found out that no matter how hard you work, no matter how good you are at what you do, and no matter how much of your heart and soul you put into what you do you are expendable. It comes down to that wonderful bottom line.

People wonder what has happened to the work ethic of workers. I can tell you what happened. What happened is that companies no longer give a damn about their workers. They don’t give their employees their worth. It’s made workers say to hell with work ethic. Who is going to keep busting butt for nothing? In my situation it’s not just a job. As my director pointed out it’s a lifestyle. It’s not something that I can just up and walk away from.

The decisions I make affect so many people. People that I care about. People who while biologically might not be related to me, but are still family to me. So now I am left here wondering if a decision I made 7 years ago is one I regret. If I’d had another job I wouldn’t be so emotionally connected. The decision I’m having to make would be much more of an easier one.

A decision that in 60 days would change the world for not just me, but my family, and the individual I assist. How do you tell someone that you’ve basically been family to “Sorry but we are leaving. Everything will be okay.”  Someone who you have been one of the few constants in their lives for the past 5 years. How do I tell my oldest son that someone who has been here since he was born, we will no longer see? Someone that he loves and cares a lot about. On the other hand when do you say enough is enough to your employer. My family and I aren’t going to keep giving and giving and not getting anything. Seven years….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

